A Weird Dream

Standard

I had a weird dream the day before yesterday. It happened early in the morning and I saw myself eating half-cooked cockroaches. I was there in the first person point of view and could even taste the disgusting flavour of the food. Even after I woke up, it was as if I had an aftertaste leftover from my dream.

I thought,”That’s a weird dream. I wonder why I had it.”But I already had the answer to that. I remembered that only the other day I had come across a quote by one of my favourite humourists, Mark Twain. It went something like,

Eat a live frog first thing in the morning and nothing worse will happen to you the rest of the day.

Why the roaches instead of the frog? That’s because I am scared of roaches. Scared and disgusted by them (And I am a man. I hear the distant,tragic moaning at the demolition of the image of the idealised “Man”). But there was more to it. I have a habit of listening to podcasts while going to sleep. Mostly comforting discussions on various topics, ranging from philosophy to psychology, which I enjoy. A couple of nights before the dream I was listening to a discussion on the topic,

What is the nature of the unconscious and Carl Jung’s “Man and his Symbols”

It says how our unconscious mind is a world without language, trying to weave messages through pictures and symbols. But since we live in a world dominated by words we find it hard to decipher them and often neglect it as non-sensical. So. I decided to make sense of the dream. Did it mean anything? Or was it just a restructuring of Mark’s quote? Since I consider myself to be a skeptic, I wanted to be careful of trying to find meaning where none exists. But then a thought hit me. The quote. Yes! The quote. What is the one precondition for truly enjoying the brilliance of the quote?

You have to be already living in a situation that makes you feel that your day would indeed become tolerable if you would only follow the advice.

And I did follow it,didn’t I! In my dream. So what does it say about my everyday life?

Oh.

Cartoon by Lev Yilmaz


Featured Image: http://opiniaocentral.files.wordpress.com/2014/02/carl_jung.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

