Beep beep boop….Now what?!

Standard

I want to write….I-want-to-write. Why? I don’t really know. I have always imagined myself to be sitting in front of a typewriter(old movie nostalgia), pouring out my thoughts furiously yet elegantly like some master pianist producing his melodies effortlessly through his keys…

Well, it turns out it is not that easy.

Writing,as I am just realizing, requires a lot of effort.We are a generation of listeners and speakers,mostly speakers. Writing requires an intensity far greater than that which is generally seen in other forms of self expression.Consider when you prepare a speech.First you write it down. Then rehearse with it. Maybe you record yourself and find some error. Then you go back to your text to correct it. After some time, your speech draft has taken more abuse from those red and green markers than your underwear which you haven’t changed in a week.

There needs to be a structure in writing,even when it is just some mindless babble.It feels like the process of writing words has a supernatural law of drudgery attached to it.

It’s like the Supreme Being is saying,

“Oh well well. Siri! I see you have mistaken yourself to be a creature worthy of some free-willed opinion.There,let me present to you,the writing system. Now slog over those papers.”

Writing looks so primitive,so…….old. Or maybe it’s just me.

Leave a Reply

